Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

Accord 09 - Wire 2 Amp?

  #1  
Old 01-16-2013, 08:05 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 8
Default Accord 09 - Wire 2 Amp?

How to wire 2 amp to an Accord 09 - V6 EXL - NO NAVI

want to wire 2 amp
1 to subwoofer
1 to front / rear speaker

My Questions
1 - should i do it from the stock amp (factory amp) using an LC6i or other audiocontrol?

2 - will the lc6i audiocontrol support my amps
  • 1000 watts rms - 12" sub
  • T600-4 front/rears speaker
Thx
 
  #2  
Old 01-17-2013, 05:16 PM
keep_hope_alive's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Quad Cities, IL
Posts: 3,207
Default

the LC6i is perfect for your application. simply wire from front and rear speaker outputs (full range) to the LC6i. the LC6i will generate a third pair of outputs for the sub and give remote level control.

you can access rear speakers at the rear deck, and front speaker wires at the head unit. at the same time, you can use the wires behind the head unit to feed the front speakers (so a total of 4 pairs of speaker wires are ran from trunk to behind HU).

note that the factory tweeters have the crossover mounted to them. if you buy component speakers for the front (recommended) you will need to mount the passive crossovers somewhere and do some extra wiring. you can access door speaker wiring behind the HU but will need to run dedicated wiring from the passive crossover to the tweeter.
 
  #3  
Old 01-18-2013, 10:53 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 8
Default

should i wire like this pic
PD: ill rewire all speakers and tweeter

 
  #4  
Old 01-19-2013, 09:33 AM
keep_hope_alive's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Quad Cities, IL
Posts: 3,207
Default

wire it like page 4 of the manual
http://www.sound-better.net/Support/...nd/LC6i_OM.pdf

you will just have 4 channels in but 6 channel out. channel 1 is front, channel 2 is rear and channel 3 is sub (uses the remote level control). channel 3 will be the summed combination of 1 and 2 (using internal jumpers). refer to pages 6 & 7.
 
  #5  
Old 01-19-2013, 06:20 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 8
Default

if i wire this way will i keep the steering wheel control (audio, back)?

 

Last edited by Aratyhq; 01-20-2013 at 08:31 PM.
  #6  
Old 01-21-2013, 12:38 PM
keep_hope_alive's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Quad Cities, IL
Posts: 3,207
Default

exactly. but you don't need the separate front tweeter output - just front speaker and rear speaker off the HU directly. the factory amp is in the head unit with just 4 outputs (in U.S.) front is channel 1 in and out. rear is channel 2 in and out. sub is channel 3 out with sum of 1 and 2 in.
 
  #7  
Old 01-22-2013, 02:23 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 8
Default

Originally Posted by keep_hope_alive View Post
exactly. but you don't need the separate front tweeter output - just front speaker and rear speaker off the HU directly. the factory amp is in the head unit with just 4 outputs (in U.S.) front is channel 1 in and out. rear is channel 2 in and out. sub is channel 3 out with sum of 1 and 2 in.
ok, should i run the tweeter from the stock amp?
what about the steering wheel audio control? should be working?
 
  #8  
Old 01-22-2013, 07:24 PM
keep_hope_alive's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Quad Cities, IL
Posts: 3,207
Default

no, tweeter is powered from the new amps as part of the component speaker system. the tweeter gets a signal through the passive crossover.

the steering wheel controls will remain as-is since they wire directly to the head unit
 
  #9  
Old 01-27-2013, 09:14 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 8
Default

Originally Posted by keep_hope_alive View Post
no, tweeter is powered from the new amps as part of the component speaker system. the tweeter gets a signal through the passive crossover.

the steering wheel controls will remain as-is since they wire directly to the head unit
Questions:

  1. Should i install the lc6i in the trunk or is better close to the stock amp?
  2. can i run the remote wire with the close to speaker wire or with amp power cable?
 
  #10  
Old 01-30-2013, 07:15 AM
keep_hope_alive's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Quad Cities, IL
Posts: 3,207
Default

i would prefer keeping the LC6i closer to the amps.

remote can be with either and have no issues. i route mine with power since it terminates at the same side of the amp.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Accord 09 - Wire 2 Amp?


Advertising

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.