Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

Amp wire hooked to battery, goes to trunk, not plugged in, has voltage - Help??

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2013, 09:06 PM
Newest Of Newbies
Default Amp wire hooked to battery, goes to trunk, not plugged in, has voltage - Help??

I know this is a really stupid question, but I'm new at this and trying to fix my car.

I have a red wire that is running from my battery to my trunk, and it's just sitting there exposed. I just it with my multimeter, and it does have voltage when the car is on and running (something like 13V?). I'm pretty sure that this is not good, but can someone explain what this is doing exactly? Does it draw power away from the car? Can I just remove it?

I don't have an amp or a subwoofer, but I think the car that I bought had one that was either stolen and they ripped all the wires, or removed, but all the wires were left behind. The guy just told me that the radio didn't work and there were some weird electrical issues.

Old 07-19-2013, 01:55 AM
Newest Of Newbies

Here's a picture of it. The red wire that's hooked up to the battery looks really corroded, and the nut doesn't look like i can take it off. Is that where I would take it off? Help? I'm scared I'm going to touch the wrong wire and get electrocuted or break something.

Attached Thumbnails Amp wire hooked to battery, goes to trunk, not plugged in, has voltage - Help??-rmz0orrl.jpg  
Old 07-19-2013, 06:41 PM
Newest Of Newbies

It is 12V so you will not get shocked. Disconnect the negative first. That way you will not have a completed circuit and you an work on removing the connection to the positive. JUST MAKE SURE YOU HAVE YOUR RADIO CODE before you disconnect the battery.

Old 07-19-2013, 07:22 PM
Newest Of Newbies