Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

Earthquake Subwoofer

  #1  
Old 09-14-2007, 11:30 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 555
Default Earthquake Subwoofer

Hi guys, I'm in the process of putting a 12" Earthquake Magma subwoofer in my car. I haven't finished building the box yet. Hopefully I'll finish by tomorrow with perhaps the exception of carpeting and a terminal plate. BTW does anybody know where i can get carpet for cheap? Anyway, the Magma coupled with my 760 W max Pioneer amp hits HARD. I don't think this amp provides enough RMS for the sub but I might break an eardrum if I did have a stronger amp. I'm also installing a passive radiator on the back of the box. I haven't tested the sub with that yet so I don't know how it'll sound. I'll post pics tomorrow, maybe even a video if I can capture the way this subwoofer moves.
 
  #2  
Old 09-15-2007, 11:23 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 555
Default RE: Earthquake Subwoofer

well i basically finished for now. its not much of a looker since i dont have the carpetting yet. but it sounds great. This thing can really hit. I'm only pushing around 300W rms but I'm totally satisfied with it. The sub in conjunction with the passive radiator makes a really good setup.

Here's the pics:
Name:  HPIM0916.jpg
Views: 8
Size:  47.6 KB
Name:  HPIM0918.jpg
Views: 16
Size:  43.0 KB
Name:  HPIM0919.jpg
Views: 16
Size:  42.9 KB
Name:  HPIM0920.jpg
Views: 21
Size:  60.6 KB
This is temporary for now. When I finish everything the amp will probably sit on top of the box and the other on the side of the trunk. I dont want to take so much space.

BTW not that anybody would really care, the sides of the box are recessed for easy carrying.
 
  #3  
Old 09-16-2007, 12:50 PM
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 24
Default RE: Earthquake Subwoofer

http://www.partsexpress.com/webpage....ctGroup_ID=826
dont get the latex backed carpet...
 
  #4  
Old 09-16-2007, 02:23 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 555
Default RE: Earthquake Subwoofer

hey thanks. I was wondering once i have the carpet around the rim of the hole will it let air escape?

also wnother problem. when i first start up my car the music from my 4 channel amp sounds really staticy. but if i turn it up i can "blast" the bad sound out. whats wrong? is it just the amp gettin old?
 
  #5  
Old 09-16-2007, 03:42 PM
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 24
Default RE: Earthquake Subwoofer

no, the carpet will probably actually help the air not escape. and it sounds like u have some engine noise issues...try checking all of your grounds and your RCAs
 
  #6  
Old 09-16-2007, 04:31 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 555
Default RE: Earthquake Subwoofer

its not that whiny distortion. its like static and its only there at first. if i "blast" or "push" it out its not there anymore.
 
  #7  
Old 09-16-2007, 08:07 PM
MacLeod's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ringgold, GA
Posts: 455
Default RE: Earthquake Subwoofer

That sounds like something is not connected right. Check the speaker wires at the speaker. Make sure the leads arent touching anything.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
barticus520
Off Topic
8
08-24-2011 12:06 AM
HuYnHness
Audio/Visual Electronics
5
07-23-2007 12:17 PM
Rodzilla
Audio/Visual Electronics
7
08-03-2006 01:39 AM
03Sleeper
Audio/Visual Electronics
1
06-24-2006 11:58 PM
beatburger
Audio/Visual Electronics
5
05-17-2005 11:13 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Earthquake Subwoofer


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.