Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

fuse in amp keeps blowing

  #1  
Old 11-22-2008, 06:08 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: savannah, ga
Posts: 333
Default fuse in amp keeps blowing

i got a pioneer amp and fuse from my friends sister for free because the fuse in it was blown and she didnt know what was wrong. well i put the amp in my car and sure enough the fuse i put in blew. since it was happening to both our cars, im guessing it has to do with the amp and not the wiring, right? the wiring in my car was powering the 8" sub in my car just fine.
 
  #2  
Old 11-22-2008, 06:13 PM
cjdm98's Avatar
Been Around A Long Time Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Miami,FL
Posts: 2,452
Default RE: fuse in amp keeps blowing

Yeah amp is no good, how old is it,and how may watts?
 
  #3  
Old 11-22-2008, 06:17 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: savannah, ga
Posts: 333
Default RE: fuse in amp keeps blowing

its a 200 watt amp. its a good bit old. probably older than 5 years.
is there anyway to fix it?
 
  #4  
Old 11-22-2008, 06:23 PM
cjdm98's Avatar
Been Around A Long Time Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Miami,FL
Posts: 2,452
Default RE: fuse in amp keeps blowing

You can,but why would you want to.. My double din has more power than that..
 
  #5  
Old 11-22-2008, 06:27 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: savannah, ga
Posts: 333
Default RE: fuse in amp keeps blowing

haha it was free and is better than the 8" i had before
 
  #6  
Old 11-22-2008, 06:30 PM
cjdm98's Avatar
Been Around A Long Time Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Miami,FL
Posts: 2,452
Default RE: fuse in amp keeps blowing

Well beggars cant be choosers.i guess
 
  #7  
Old 11-22-2008, 06:37 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: savannah, ga
Posts: 333
Default RE: fuse in amp keeps blowing

well i took that piece apart and i didnt notice anything blackened or obviously fried.
what should i be looking for?
 
  #8  
Old 11-22-2008, 06:45 PM
cjdm98's Avatar
Been Around A Long Time Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Miami,FL
Posts: 2,452
Default RE: fuse in amp keeps blowing

Remember when an amp blows a fuse its a safety precaution in most cases... You may not be able to visibly see the problem
 
  #9  
Old 11-22-2008, 07:56 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: savannah, ga
Posts: 333
Default RE: fuse in amp keeps blowing

how much would it cost to let an audio store fix it?
 
  #10  
Old 11-22-2008, 08:03 PM
Tippman7641's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 600
Default RE: fuse in amp keeps blowing

mine checked out my amp for free
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: fuse in amp keeps blowing


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.