Go Back  Honda Accord Forum - Honda Accord Enthusiast Forums > Your Ride > Audio/Visual Electronics
Reload this Page >

How to find out if there is any rear camera input behind audio system?

Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

How to find out if there is any rear camera input behind audio system?

  #1  
Old 08-31-2018, 11:13 AM
Newest Of Newbies
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 18
Default How to find out if there is any rear camera input behind audio system?

Hi
I have a 2013 Accord lx

Is there any way to find out my audio system has rear camera( socket )input or not?
My dashboard picture is atached ?
I know that my accord dose not have rear camera but is there any chance to find out if there is any socket for rear camera without removing audio system and look at behind it?!!
 
  #2  
Old 09-04-2018, 05:21 PM
keep_hope_alive's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Quad Cities, IL
Posts: 3,210
Default

I think you'll have to look since we have no documentation on non-US spec Accords. In the states we have an identically-looking head unit that does have camera inputs. My guess is that it's likely the radio does have the input.

One check may be to go through the diagnostic menu (look on YouTube) and see if there are options for adjusting camera settings.

Also, does the menu offer camera settings? if the menu lacks camera settings (they would be greyed out) but the plug is there, then it may not work at all.

Step one may be to take the top cover off the dash trim (just pry a thin nylon tool under it) and look at the radio model number. Then you can search for that model number and maybe find pics on eBay.
 

Last edited by keep_hope_alive; 09-04-2018 at 05:24 PM.
  #3  
Old 10-12-2018, 04:34 PM
Newest Of Newbies
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 18
Default Hi

I could remove it and took picture
 

Last edited by ghsouri; 10-12-2018 at 04:47 PM.
  #4  
Old 10-12-2018, 11:11 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 393
Default

You have the plug in for it you need a special cable to install it and of course running the 4 wires required from rear to front.

Check out car-solutions.com to find what is needed. They sale the cable for $32 and show you the hookup diagram.

cable

diagram
 

Last edited by Seanjordan20; 10-12-2018 at 11:19 PM.
  #5  
Old 10-13-2018, 02:49 AM
Newest Of Newbies
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 18
Default

Originally Posted by ghsouri View Post
I could remove it and took picture



 
  #6  
Old 10-13-2018, 07:02 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 393
Default

The 24 pin plug-in is there you will just need a cable like stated above and run the cables. Just remember to make sure to buy a NTSC camera. Also you must have the OEM 8" Honda i-MID monitor without touch. I don't think you need the camera activated in the software.
 

Last edited by Seanjordan20; 10-13-2018 at 07:15 AM.
  #7  
Old 10-13-2018, 07:39 AM
Newest Of Newbies
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 18
Default

Thanks for reply
The 24 PIN cable should be connected to 8'' LCD ( the upper LCD ) OR to ĺower LCD that I have showed you in picture?
Is 24 pin socket that one that is not connected to any cable in my picture?
 
  #8  
Old 10-13-2018, 07:55 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 393
Default

Did you pull up the diagram I posted earlier? I would assume it's for the upper screen and probably more. Do you know what type of screen you have. As long as you have the one needed you should be fine
 
  #9  
Old 10-13-2018, 10:48 AM
Newest Of Newbies
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 18
Default

Yes thanks for your kindly reply
I saw your diagram but :
first how should I find my upper LCD is that type you said?
second there is a 24 pin socket behind my system that is not connected to enything
in your diagram the cable should be connected to OEM 24 pin that there is not avaiable in my system
would you please see my pictures again carefully ?
 
  #10  
Old 10-13-2018, 11:50 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 393
Default

It's probably a good indication that your screen is not what is needed but you should be able to find what your vehicle was equipped with with your vin. Did you not unplug a cable to take it out to take pics. Something has to be plugged up to relay the radio info.
 

Last edited by Seanjordan20; 10-13-2018 at 12:29 PM.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: How to find out if there is any rear camera input behind audio system?


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.