Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

Installation suggestions

  #1  
Old 02-17-2009, 11:53 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location:
Posts: 67
Default Installation suggestions

I am going to be taking my system to get installed on friday which includes: components, 6x9, 2 amps, 2 12's, and a compacitor. I want to have as much trunk space as possible but i have no idea how i should install the amps and compacitor. I was think of bolting the amps to my backseat but i havent decided. Anybody have any ideas?
 
  #2  
Old 02-18-2009, 12:42 AM
Been Around A Long Time Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 2,328
Default

back of the sub
 
  #3  
Old 02-18-2009, 01:20 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location:
Posts: 118
Default

take out your spare tire and build a box to fit in there and cover the amps with plexyglass DO IT BIG!
 
  #4  
Old 02-18-2009, 08:23 AM
finch13's Avatar
Been Around A Long Time Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 7,381
Default

Lol.. if you don't care about looks, just mount the crap to the box. So much easier when you need to get into the trunk for the spare tire or take them out.
 
  #5  
Old 02-18-2009, 09:25 AM
t00fatt's Avatar
Been Around A Long Time Member
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Miami
Posts: 3,294
Default

If you want to keep your trunk you pretty much need to do what I did. I got rid of my two subs and went for a single high powered sub. Made a rectangular box that is relatively shallow, tall and wide. It fits just behind where the spare tire opens. I then have my two amps in the trunk mounted on the floor in the front of the trunk on either side of where the spare tire comes out of. The amps keep cool better laying horizontally. And depending on how many amps your drawing, I don't think your going to need a cap in a 7th gen. If your putting a big load on your alt, a cap only makes that load even bigger. It's best to upgrade your battery, and wiring before installing a cap.
 
  #6  
Old 02-18-2009, 11:24 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location:
Posts: 118
Default

Do it big!
 
  #8  
Old 02-23-2009, 04:12 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: savannah, ga
Posts: 333
Default

you mean leave the stock radio on and mount an aftermarket one in the cubby hole? why would you do that?
 
  #9  
Old 02-23-2009, 06:22 PM
t00fatt's Avatar
Been Around A Long Time Member
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Miami
Posts: 3,294
Default

To save the $150 it costs for the other kit. As for the other person I'm not sure what suggestions your looking for but if you want real quality you have to get rid of the stock HU.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Installation suggestions


Advertising

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.