Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

new sub

  #1  
Old 02-04-2009, 06:48 PM
Been Around A Long Time Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 2,328
Default new sub

hey guys i just bought a new 12' jl sub 600w its ported and sloted?
my question is i have my amp screwed into my other sub and its sealed can i screw the amp on this one or will it damage the sound?
Name:  jl.jpg
Views: 4
Size:  7.1 KB
 
  #2  
Old 02-04-2009, 06:49 PM
finch13's Avatar
Been Around A Long Time Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 7,381
Default

Won't damage the sound
 
  #3  
Old 02-04-2009, 06:51 PM
Been Around A Long Time Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 2,328
Default

thanks for being fast finchy, also my amp is 1000w subs 600 any damage?
 
  #4  
Old 02-04-2009, 06:54 PM
t00fatt's Avatar
Been Around A Long Time Member
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Miami
Posts: 3,294
Default

No that will be fine, wouldn't hurt to put a little silicon on the screw as it goes in to guarantee a nice seal. Be sure to predrill before driving the screw in or the wood will crack. That W1 will give you much better sound then the audiobahn you had. I'm thinking about getting a 10" W1 to replace a blown JBL home audio sub I have.
 
  #5  
Old 02-04-2009, 06:55 PM
t00fatt's Avatar
Been Around A Long Time Member
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Miami
Posts: 3,294
Default

What brand and model amp? Chances are it's not really a 1000w block. That w1 can handle a bit extra power, but noting too crazy. If your going to overpower it, it really should be in a sealed box. The max power it can take goes down in a ported box, as it can bottom out with the extra power.
 
  #6  
Old 02-04-2009, 06:57 PM
Been Around A Long Time Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 2,328
Default

its a crappy sony xplod.
 
  #7  
Old 02-04-2009, 07:01 PM
Been Around A Long Time Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 2,328
Default

actually i dont even know how many amps the sub is... toofatt your said its a w1 which will make it 300 watts.
 
  #8  
Old 02-04-2009, 07:03 PM
t00fatt's Avatar
Been Around A Long Time Member
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Miami
Posts: 3,294
Default

Lol you'll be fine, I would be surprised if it put out 750w cleanly. You can find out for yourself what your amp is really putting out, it is really simple just need a mutli-tester. A sealed would be the safe way to go, you may damage the driver in a ported with that excess power, but I don't think that extra power will burn up the coil.
 
  #9  
Old 02-04-2009, 07:08 PM
MacLeod's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ringgold, GA
Posts: 455
Default

Make sure you DO NOT set the gain any higher than the "noon" position or half way. That amp is big enough to fry that sub if youre not careful. Just set the gains properly and use common sense with the volume **** and you should be fine.
 
  #10  
Old 02-04-2009, 07:10 PM
Been Around A Long Time Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 2,328
Default

think i might run down to circuit city and go buy a new amp 300 watts.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: new sub


Advertising

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.