Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

Over Powering or Underpowering the subs, which is better?

Old 10-21-2010, 12:48 PM
Default Over Powering or Underpowering the subs, which is better?

I have been going through the pages of the forums and internet for a long time and still cant get a definite answer on this issue. But every other site gives different answers. I am a student and cant afford too much $$$ in the system. So I have been buying stuff when I can and finally I have a complete setup. I will be upgrading when I have enough saved later but for now this is my setup.

I have a sony xplod 10" sub, model: xs-L1037, rated 200 watts rms and 800 watts peak. I know this is not a good subwoofer at all, but I got it for a cheap price with the box. Read above, I am a student and cant afford new stuff.

I recently purchased a used dual amp, model: xia-2460, rated at 100 watts rms x 2 @ 4ohms and 300watts rms x1 @ 4 ohms(bridged).

I have a 8 AWG lines for power and ground.

Everything is connected properly.

Now my question is should I run the sub with only one channel running at 100 watts rms(under powering the sub by 50% since the sub is rated at 200 watts rms) or should I run it bridged at 300 watts rms(over powering the sub by 100 watts than suggested).

I listen to the hard and classic rock most of the times, thats why I went with 10" rather than 12" subs. Only time I listen to hip hop is when my friends are in the car. But never the less I love the songs with the double bass drums and bass riffs.

I am a hobbyist musician so, I know what the difference between fast tight bass and loud muddy bass. And I am also a computer engineer so, I am pretty good at wiring and cabling stuff. But I am new to the car audio setups.

Back to the question, should I underpower and increase the gain or overpower and decrease the gain on the amp.