Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

Radio Trouble

  #1  
Old 09-30-2014, 03:04 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 5
Default Radio Trouble

Hey guys.
I just got a 07 accord last week,and love it!
In trying to install my bazooka tube subwoofer, I took out my radio and looked for a remote wire in the preinstalled aftermarket head unit. I couldnt find one. So I decided to put in my other head unit from my old car. I cut all the wires and hooked her up, but it wouldn't work! I then reinstalled the original unit with the original wiring harness and still, no luck! I would hear it register the CD, but no display or sound. I assumed it was a faulty remote wire (I also checked the fuses), but I don't understand, because it worked perfectly before! Messing around with it, I got the display to come on when I touched the power wire to the remote wire, but then it won't turn off...
Can anyone explain this? I'm baffled, and there doesn't seem to be an explanation online.
Also, I tested the cigarette light, that doesn't work either.
 
  #2  
Old 09-30-2014, 03:32 PM
TexasHonda's Avatar
Super Moderator : And A Texan
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 9,649
Default

A common fuse (#32) powers the relay drive for cigarette lighter socket and also feeds the audio unit. Check fuse 32.

If that is not the problem, you need to get a wiring diagram (factory shop manual) and begin the process of tracing each wire you cut (bad move as it makes it difficult to retreat, better to install adapter kit w/ no wire cuts).

If all else fails use the bazooka to nuke it. :D

good luck
 
  #3  
Old 09-30-2014, 03:39 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 5
Default

I didn't actually cut the factory wires, just the wires from the previously installed aftermarket harness...I did find two blown fuses just now tho! I'm on my way to replace them, and I'll post later if it fixes it.
 
  #4  
Old 09-30-2014, 05:08 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 5
Default

It's all fixed! It was the fuses. And you were right, 32 was out.
My bazooka will be set up in no time. One more happy Honda driver!
 
  #5  
Old 10-13-2014, 10:19 AM
WheelBrokerAng's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canton/Massillon, Ohio 44646
Posts: 30,431
Default

Hi new Member..


Welcome to the forums..I moved you here to the stereo type forum for your next stereo answers..


WheelBrokerAng
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
xopher
Audio/Visual Electronics
1
10-06-2014 06:15 PM
armyeodking
Audio/Visual Electronics
4
10-02-2013 03:42 PM
GMANCRX
Audio/Visual Electronics
1
07-15-2013 02:50 PM
bondja
Audio/Visual Electronics
2
02-07-2010 10:56 PM
RecMK5
General Tech Help
11
02-13-2009 06:33 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Radio Trouble


Advertising

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.