Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

Splice Cigarette Lighter Cable?

Old 08-16-2013, 08:09 AM
Default Splice Cigarette Lighter Cable?

I want to add a hidden cigarette lighter socket behind my dash while retaining the existing one in my 2004 Accord. I've read plenty online about simply splicing into the hot (12v+?) cable to the lighter behind the dash and using the female end of a Y-splitter to create a new socket that way.

My problem is that I'm not good at soldering, I don't know what heatshrinking is, and so I'm not confident that I'd make a good job of it at all. I've read about Posi-Taps, which look like the perfect answer, allowing me to tap into a wire with no soldering or crimping, but I've also read people's comments that for a 12v accessory cable they would only ever solder, and not to be lazy in those instances.

Well, I'm not considering using Posi-Taps because I'm lazy, I'm considering it because I'm not confident with my soldering! My question is, would it be ok to use a Posi-Tap on the cigarette lighter cable, or should I find someone (I have no idea who) to do it 'properly'?

Old 08-16-2013, 08:56 AM
Senior Member Stereo Guru..Almost A Mod :)

you really need to run new wire and fuse it if you are going to do that. some accessories can pull a lot of amperage. if you get two on the same run popping fuses or starting a fire wouldnt be that hard to imagine.

just new wire.

Old 08-16-2013, 03:42 PM
Super Moderator

Your car already should have a front and rear accessory outlet, unless it is the DX which doesn't have a rear outlet.