Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

Using 2 channel amp with one subwoofer?

  #1  
Old 06-24-2007, 10:22 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Location:
Posts: 412
Default Using 2 channel amp with one subwoofer?

Can I use a 2 channel amplifier to power one Kicker L5 sub? I know it's generally bad, but is it so bad that I should sell my amp and get a mono amp? Losing money in the process.
 
  #2  
Old 06-25-2007, 07:47 AM
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location:
Posts: 23
Default RE: Using 2 channel amp with one subwoofer?

It's not bad at all. In fact, people do this all the time... it's called "bridging". Basically take the positive (+) from one channel and the negative (-) from the other channel, and it bridges the power from both channels into a single channel. You get the most power from the amp this way, so just make sure you aren't pushing more than your speaker can handle.
 
  #3  
Old 06-25-2007, 12:16 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Location:
Posts: 412
Default RE: Using 2 channel amp with one subwoofer?

I see, so it isn't a good idea then to just use one channel's pos and neg and leave the other channel entirely blank. Does it matter which channel I use the positive for? Or could the positive be used from either channel.
 
  #4  
Old 06-25-2007, 12:24 PM
Been Around A Long Time Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,969
Default RE: Using 2 channel amp with one subwoofer?

Do you have another sub?
 
  #5  
Old 06-25-2007, 12:28 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Location:
Posts: 412
Default RE: Using 2 channel amp with one subwoofer?

No I just have one Kicker L5 sub.
 
  #6  
Old 06-25-2007, 01:27 PM
Been Around A Long Time Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,969
Default RE: Using 2 channel amp with one subwoofer?

Then go with what Sinsecure said and get a bridge....shouldn't cost that much. Let us know how it sounds!
 
  #7  
Old 06-25-2007, 03:36 PM
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location:
Posts: 23
Default RE: Using 2 channel amp with one subwoofer?

Doesn't matter which channel you take the + or the - from. Just pick. If you want, you can just use one channel of your amp, but you'll only be using half of your amp's potential. In other words, if it's a 300 watt, 2 channel amp, you'll be sending ~150 watts to your one sub. Now if you bridge the amp (+ from channel A, - from channel B, just for argument's sake), you'll be sending all 300 watts to your single sub. There's nothing you need to buy. I'm sure there are some fancy bridges out there, but simply take your wire (pos and neg) and put one on each channel
 
  #8  
Old 06-25-2007, 05:08 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Location:
Posts: 412
Default RE: Using 2 channel amp with one subwoofer?

Thanks for all your help.
 
  #9  
Old 06-28-2007, 08:59 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2007
Location:
Posts: 121
Default RE: Using 2 channel amp with one subwoofer?

what's your amp? and if it's 2ohm stable then bridged will give max at a 4 ohm load. with a mono u can get more power at a lower ohm load pending on amp. is the L5 a dual 2 or 4?
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
cat2115
Audio/Visual Electronics
1
04-26-2014 07:49 AM
rio
PRIVATE For Sale / Trade Classifieds
5
01-20-2011 07:09 PM
troycifer
Audio/Visual Electronics
9
06-22-2010 06:58 PM
cxjon
PRIVATE For Sale / Trade Classifieds
1
10-11-2008 12:15 AM
Mikes Machine
PRIVATE For Sale / Trade Classifieds
2
02-11-2008 06:24 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Using 2 channel amp with one subwoofer?


Advertising

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.