Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

Accord Engine Swap

Search this Thread

Old 05-20-2010, 12:25 PM
Newest Of Newbies
Exclamation Accord Engine Swap

Hey guys I have a 1995 Honda Accord V6, I would like to swap the ****ty 170 hp V6 for a better engine. I was looking at a J32A2 or a H22 Vtec. Im new to the swap stuff but I would like to know whats better for me. Any comment helps, Thanks!

Old 06-01-2010, 08:33 PM

i dont have an engine swap myself but i was doing alot of research on them yesterday and there was definitly better things said about the J32A than the H22 and besides the J32A has more horses. use search engines be a critical consumer you know your car better than we do.

Old 06-01-2010, 08:43 PM
Supper Moderator

I would imagine since you are already equipped for a v6 another v6 would prob. be your best bet. Doing a h22 MIGHT be more modifying than it’s worth. But the h22 has more aftermarket support that the j series when it comes to performance parts. I have never heard of anyone swapping from a v6 down to a 4cyl.

Old 06-08-2010, 02:23 PM
Newest Of Newbies

Hey now, I drive a Legend with that same "XXXX" V6 in it, and it's a great engine. Those blocks are bulletproof, so forced induction is easily obtained with some fabrication. Should you do decide to get rid of your C27, I will happily take a few of the parts!

EDIT: It should be noted that the J-series V6 is an entirely different animal than the C-series you and I have now. The J-series is a 60-degree block (instead of the 90-degree C-series), and it is a VTEC engine, whereas the C27 is not. The wiring would have to be redone in the engine compartment, as well as engine mounts fabbed, plus fitting whichever transmission you decide to go with.