Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

Do hondas learn the driver's driving habits?

Search this Thread

Old 03-19-2008, 03:29 PM
jaybird
Unregistered
Default Do hondas learn the driver's driving habits?

I recently purchases my first accord (2002 EX V6, AT) and I am very pleased with my purchase. I however didnt know of the transmission problems that plague these model cars. I bought mine off a 3 year lease with 36k miles on it. (I have 90k on it now.) Good thing it was certified because I had to get my transmission replaced within 2 months of owning it. After getting the car back with a new transmission, it definately feels different. The pedal seems a little stiffer to push and the car doesnt accelerate as well as it used to. I am a fairly conservative driver but I do like to punch it a little when dealing with the general population who cant drive. I try to drive my car conservatively just because of gas prices. Going all out nascar on it seems to drain the gas tank and the wallet. Is it known for cars (in general) to lose their original feel when you switch out a transmission?