Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

H22 or g22???

  #1  
Old 02-05-2009, 10:42 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bethpage, TN
Posts: 37
Talking H22 or g22???

What would work out better? Swapping in a H22 or doing a G22 build. I got a f22b2 in my car already. What would actually be better and or easier? Been researching the g22 and looking at h22 motors already. Just want everyones opinion. Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 02-05-2009, 11:04 AM
live2rice's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 8,717
Default

H22 makes more power and is easier. But if you are interested in a G22 I have a H23 head for sale.
 
  #3  
Old 02-05-2009, 11:10 AM
cjdm98's Avatar
Been Around A Long Time Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Miami,FL
Posts: 2,452
Default

X2 on the H22 making more power and being easier..Verdict is not completely out for me as far as the G22 build.
 

Last edited by cjdm98; 02-05-2009 at 11:15 AM.
  #4  
Old 02-05-2009, 11:13 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bethpage, TN
Posts: 37
Default

I thought the h22 would probably be easier to put in then having to try and build the g22. I know there is a whole lot more performance parts for the h22 then for my f22b2 thats for sure.
 
  #5  
Old 02-05-2009, 11:15 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bethpage, TN
Posts: 37
Talking

L2R you have the h22 dont you? I'm probably on this site for 5-6 hours to day since i been laid off. I've read pretty much every thread in here
 
  #6  
Old 02-05-2009, 11:16 AM
live2rice's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 8,717
Default

I had a H22a4 in my car. Right now it sits with no motor in it. But I'm in the process of building a H23 VTEC.
 
  #7  
Old 02-05-2009, 11:21 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bethpage, TN
Posts: 37
Default

Yeah i thought you sig used to say that you did. Whats the better model h22 to get for my 97 and while i'm looking at doing this i am going to swap in the 5 spd. hate automatics but hey, what can you say for cheap. haha
 
  #8  
Old 02-05-2009, 11:24 AM
live2rice's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 8,717
Default

H22a i suppose is the best, but h22a4(not out of a SH), h22a1 or h22a will do the job and only slight difference in power ranging from 190hp-200hp on them.
 
  #9  
Old 02-05-2009, 11:30 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bethpage, TN
Posts: 37
Default

Alrighty, Would i have to use different motor mounts or would the stock f22 ones work? I know i'd have to use the ecu of the h22. Would it be a pain to put vtec in a original non vtec car?
 
  #10  
Old 02-05-2009, 11:39 AM
live2rice's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 8,717
Default

You can either modify the driver side mount or buy the hasport one(i recommend buying the hasport one its like 100 and change). And if you are doing auto to manual you have to get the 5spd tranny mount.

I personally havent added vtec, but its only running 1 or 2 wires.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: H22 or g22???


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.