Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

MALFUNCTION INDICATOR LAMP / engine's emission control system....help required

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-2006, 07:33 PM
djsinister
Unregistered
Default MALFUNCTION INDICATOR LAMP / engine's emission control system....help required

Hi there,

I'm a newbie BTW!!

I own a 2002 Honda Accord 4-cylinder 2-door automatic sport coupe.

I'm at 67,000 KM right now.

Just last night, while I was driving home from work (on the highway), my car's MALFUNCTION INDICATOR LAMP came on. This was the very 1st time that I had ever witnessed this light...

I noticed that it came on almost at the same time that I had downshifted from 4th to 3rd gear. I was going rather steadily..

I drove home, parked, and immediately checked my owner's manual (in glove comp't). The manual specified that I check the gas cap, which i did and it was fine. I noticed that the manual specified to wait "3 driving trips" before making any plans to visit my Honda dealer...

Well, I made those 3 trips, and the light still hasn't dissappeared.

I called Honda, and my advisor said that she 'hated' that light and that that specific light could be many possible problems (including possibly the transmission) , and that i would have to bring the car in in about a week to check it (at a cost of $70 just to check if there's a problem!!!??!??!).

Your thoughts plz.......

(thx in advance)

PS: any pointers would help!!!

Old 02-23-2006, 07:39 PM
Been Around A Long Time Member
Default RE: MALFUNCTION INDICATOR LAMP / engine's emission control system....help required