Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

My Accord has a VTEC

  #1  
Old 07-15-2007, 09:20 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 12
Default My Accord has a VTEC

I was wondering if it was anything special that my 2000 Accord Coupe has a 2.3L VTEC. Someone once told me that it's "rare" for Honda to put a VTEC in an Accord. I don't know enough to tell if he's right or not. Anyone else heard of this?
 
  #2  
Old 07-15-2007, 10:13 PM
Been Around A Long Time Member
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,631
Default RE: My Accord has a VTEC

not rare. its in almost every engine they make now.
 
  #3  
Old 07-15-2007, 10:35 PM
Been Around A Long Time Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,969
Default RE: My Accord has a VTEC

Erm...I guess it's rare now since Honda moved onto the iVTEC (Eco-VTEC) for Accords...
 
  #4  
Old 07-15-2007, 10:37 PM
Been Around A Long Time Member
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,631
Default RE: My Accord has a VTEC

like splitting hairs, eh?
 
  #5  
Old 07-16-2007, 12:25 AM
Velocifero's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 636
Default RE: My Accord has a VTEC

ORIGINAL: smaglik

like splitting hairs, eh?
haha
 
  #6  
Old 07-16-2007, 09:21 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 12
Default RE: My Accord has a VTEC

What's the displacement on your VTEC, Velocifero...?

Very nice car, by the way...
 
  #7  
Old 07-16-2007, 09:48 AM
Velocifero's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 636
Default RE: My Accord has a VTEC

thank you. its a JDM spec H22A, 2.2L
 
  #8  
Old 07-16-2007, 09:51 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 12
Default RE: My Accord has a VTEC

Nice. Manual, I assume?

No turbo, eh? You'd really be pushin the horses then... Speaking of HP, how much?
 
  #9  
Old 07-16-2007, 12:03 PM
Been Around A Long Time Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,969
Default RE: My Accord has a VTEC

Well...it looks like he has an intake, headers, and maybe exhaust? He's probably pushing 215+.
 
  #10  
Old 07-16-2007, 01:52 PM
Velocifero's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 636
Default RE: My Accord has a VTEC

its a manual with a fairly new Forbidden short shifter i might add. i added a link to my mod list in my sig for more details.

im guessing its around 220+ i dynoed at 182 many months ago. since then ive upgraded the intake, exhaust, header with a now 2.5" collector, as well as getting a new ecu with the IABs functioning. so using the older numbers, 182whp with 17% drivetrain loss, about 220 at the box. i really want to get another pull and see how i do with the new stuff.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: My Accord has a VTEC


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.