Honda Accord Forum - Honda Accord Enthusiast Forums

Honda Accord Forum - Honda Accord Enthusiast Forums (https://www.hondaaccordforum.com/forum/)
-   Engine & Internal (https://www.hondaaccordforum.com/forum/engine-internal-11/)
-   -   Strange engine or electrical problem? And an A/C question. (https://www.hondaaccordforum.com/forum/engine-internal-11/strange-engine-electrical-problem-c-question-9371/)

ouchevelles 05-05-2007 03:29 AM

Strange engine or electrical problem? And an A/C question.

Newbie here looking for advice :)

I'm having a strange problem with my '94 Accord EX. Sometimes when I start my car, it will either crank and crank but not fire, or sputter to about 2-300 RPM for a second, then die. To fix this, all I need to do is let it sit for a while (5-10 minutes). I thought it was related to some stormy weather and moisture getting into something electrical, because it happened when it has stormed a lot (this also happened once on my 92 Accord). But today I was thinking it seems like maybe a fuel related problem I've had on my Chevelle, either filter or pump. However someone at a part store said there was something electrical in my dash, a relay that could cause these problems, although this would imply it was spark-related. Does this sound like anything familiar to anyone that could give me advice?

On a less important note, my A/C isn't working. The compressor isn't coming on. My dad does HVAC so he can figure his way around cars. We haven't tried the low pressure switch, but there is a little plug coming off of my compressor that is connected to nothing. There is only one red wire going from the compressor to this plug. We see no plug-in it could go to. Is this the problem or is it there for some other reason?

Thanks for any help!

00AccordLX5spd 05-05-2007 05:11 AM

RE: Strange engine or electrical problem? And an A/C question.