Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

Transmission Question

  #1  
Old 12-04-2007, 11:33 AM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location:
Posts: 154
Default Transmission Question

Wass uP guys im getting my transmission rebuild at the dealer very soon, and i wanted to add some extra power, (why not might as well) so my question to you guys, what can i do for some more power as far as the transmission goes? let me know guys if you got anything in mind i can do THANX.. by the way i found out the rims i wanted to get RACING HARTS 722 machined black DOESNT FIT MY CAR, spend a lot of time finding the right ones now i have to start all over :0(
 
  #2  
Old 12-04-2007, 01:55 PM
KevinAccord's Avatar
Been Around A Long Time Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 1,172
Default RE: Transmission Question

why wouldn't they fit? u know u can make ur car a 5 lug right? it takes a proffesional, but i have a friend that made his civic (4lugs) a 5 lug so he could use the integra type R rims
 
  #3  
Old 12-04-2007, 03:39 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location:
Posts: 154
Default RE: Transmission Question

they come in 5 lug set to, but the dimension's are diffrent custom fit wont look good is what i was told
 
  #4  
Old 12-04-2007, 04:10 PM
Been Around A Long Time Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Wayne, NJ
Posts: 6,213
Default RE: Transmission Question

the V6 already has 5 lug ...... for the tranny, you could replace the one you have with a Dr. Evil one ..... it'll cost you $4500 though.
 
  #5  
Old 12-04-2007, 04:12 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Montana
Posts: 6,290
Default RE: Transmission Question

the only real "power gain" you can get inside the tranny is to either re-gear it for whatever setup you want (launch, top speed etc) or get a lightweight flywheel
 
  #6  
Old 12-04-2007, 04:22 PM
Been Around A Long Time Member
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,357
Default RE: Transmission Question

Automatics don't use flywheels.
 
  #7  
Old 12-04-2007, 04:38 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location:
Posts: 154
Default RE: Transmission Question

what is the "dr. evil one"
 
  #8  
Old 12-04-2007, 04:40 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Montana
Posts: 6,290
Default RE: Transmission Question

ORIGINAL: BlkCurrantKord

Automatics don't use flywheels.
I didn't realize he had the V6, just glanced and saw no mention of auto or 5 speed so I made an assumption. Nice catch!

Dr. Evil Tranny:

http://www.dreviltransmissions.com/home.html
 
  #9  
Old 12-04-2007, 05:13 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location:
Posts: 154
Default RE: Transmission Question

i think instead of paying 2-3 k to rebuild my tranny with honda dealership, i will order a dr evil tranny a good one what do you guys think?
 
  #10  
Old 12-04-2007, 05:14 PM
Been Around A Long Time Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Wayne, NJ
Posts: 6,213
Default RE: Transmission Question

it is an OEM tranny that they re-valved and put Raysbestos blue clutchpacks in.


it's much less likely with their prorietary valving, but the Dr. Evil's can fail too.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Transmission Question


Advertising

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.