General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

05 ACCORD V6- MISFIRE,SHUTTER,SLIP, ETC.

Search this Thread

Old 01-09-2006, 09:02 PM
Newest Of Newbies
Default 05 ACCORD V6- MISFIRE,SHUTTER,SLIP, ETC.

ALL 2005 ACCORD V6 OWNERS SHOULD READ THIS CLOSELY

LIGHTSHOW and OTHERS you do NOT have a tranny problem! You have a standard case of Honda ignoring their customers to the fullest extent. I too have a 2005 Honda Accord and experience the same problem, along with a few others which I will mention later. Open loop programming is the problem. This is a major problem because you have to go deep into your wallet and aftermarket parts in order to correct the issue yourself.

2005 Accord V6 owners should imediately write to Honda customer service and your applicable Attorney general because it is my opinion that this issue will be a direct reflection on the longivity of your Accord.

I am an X mechanic with 10 years in the business and though I've been out for some time, I do know what I'm talking about.

Here goes:

COLD- Defined as coolant temperature, Vehicle has been off for roughly 3 hours, in cold regions this can be greatly reduced. The colder the outside air temperature the worse the condition and longer the duration.

PROBLEM DESCRIPTION- Lean misfire. Open loop programming is to lean (High Air/Fuel Ratio). Too little fuel being delivered to the engine at cold outside temperature in order to run properly. The colder it is outside the more fuel required to meet the demand, which is why colder regions would see this issue more.

OPEN LOOP PROGRAMMING- Preset parameters used in cold operation. Once coolant temperature reaches a set temperature the vehicle enters CLOSED LOOP PROGRAMMING in which it adjusts to reality.