General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

07 Accord (4 cyl) - heater blowing cold

Search this Thread

Old 12-29-2018, 03:52 PM
DBB
Default 07 Accord (4 cyl) - heater blowing cold

New member here, 1st post, not a mechanic. Heat blows cold - Coolant level is good, car runs at normal temp (half way btwn C an H), heater control valve/blend door (?) cable moves when temp ***** are turned from hot to cold and back.
PROBLEM (maybe?) - both hoses going through firewall to heater core (I assume) are cold to the touch when car is a operating temp and heat is on full. This seems wrong, if so, what should I do next?

Old 12-30-2018, 12:25 AM
Newest Of Newbies

My best guess is you might need a new heater control valve, or the old one is "stuck" closed. Not trivial to replace. But I'm no big expert. Anybody else?

Old 12-30-2018, 07:39 AM
Super Moderator

I think the water valve is on the firewall and it should have a cable operating a lever. Key on - have someone turn the heater temperature up & down while you watch that cable moving the lever.
- Is the cable moving?
- Is the cable connected to the lever?
etc...

Old 12-30-2018, 07:47 AM
Been Around A Long Time Member

I thought he said h checked the valve and it was operating

Old 12-30-2018, 03:16 PM
DBB

The cable is connected and it moves when the temp is turned up and down. My concern is the water hoses going through the firewall. I'm assuming they're going to and from the heater core. At operating temp with the heat on high, both hoses are cold to the touch. Shouldn't at least one of of them be hot? My understanding is that hot water is sent to the heater core which is the source of the hot air coming out of the vents. Is there a water pump that pushes water into the heater core? Any help/advice is appreciated.

Old 12-30-2018, 03:25 PM