General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1989 accord

Search this Thread

Old 05-13-2008, 07:03 PM
WTMARK
Unregistered
Default 1989 accord

Howdy, just bought a '89 accord beater with the emphasis on beat. I am a Honda novice, but no novice to wrenching (my 24 drawer rollaway weighs 3700 lbs!).
Some questions:
Power windows don't work. The on/off switch on top ofthe window switches is busted. Can this be bypassed?
The turn signal stalk is missing. Is this a simple turn signal switch or does it control headlights also. Where can I find a replacement? So far, all I've been able to locate is a complete used column for a hundred bucks............is that cheaper than just the switch?
I have not got the car home yet, gonna pick it up tomorrow (50 miles away). These are the two issues I noticed when I gave it a quick two mile test drive. It drove out good (168K miles) but the check engine light did come on. The clutch was fine and no funny noises from CV's or engine. It's replacing a '85 Lincoln Mk VII which has finally gave up the ghost. I'm driving the Mk VII across the scales tomorrow and then my buddy, the car wholesaler, is gonna pick me up and take me to the Accord.
Please help this Honda novice.

Old 05-13-2008, 08:20 PM
WTMARK
Unregistered
Default RE: 1989 accord

no takers?

Old 05-13-2008, 08:39 PM