General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

1991 Honda Accord EX Wagon Transmission Control Module Issue Sport Light On

Old 08-24-2012, 08:37 PM
Default 1991 Honda Accord EX Wagon Transmission Control Module Issue Sport Light On

Hi! This is my first time posting but have done a lot of browsing on here in the past few weeks. I've seen some threads similar to what my car is doing but nothing exact. I have a 1991 Honda Accord EX Wagon 2.2 Automatic. A month or so ago my Sport light came on and my transmission starting acting very strange. It will accelerate just fine but will not downshift. So, I am driving down the road at 50-60 mph and my RPMs are up around 3500-4000 when they are normally a lot less than that. At first it was very intermittent and would occasionally go away. After much research I found it could possibly be the TCM. My father in law works at NAPA and I had him get me what I thought was the correct (rebuilt) module. I put it in the car and it fixed the problem. Drove the car over a thousand miles on a road trip and had no problems at all. Then the next day, the Sport light came on but I had another problem. This time the car would hardly accelerate at all in D4(Drive). Had to drop it down in first or second to get any speed and then once I got it going, switch it back to D4. Also, not downshifting properly. This went on for a couple weeks. I then read on here that you can pull the Backup fuse under the hood and if the problem goes away, you have a bad TCM. I tried this and sure enough, the problem went away. After a couple days, the car was running just fine with no transmission issues. Today, it started doing the original thing again where it won't downshift, accelerates fine but the RPMs are really high. I tried pulling the backup fuse again to see if it would temporarily fix the problem but would not this time. I also started doing some research on the NAPA website and found out the the