General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

1992 Accord long brake pedal

Search this Thread

Old 10-04-2018, 09:27 PM
Default 1992 Accord long brake pedal

1992 Accord LX 2.2 AT 275,000 miles on odometer
I am new to Honda & Forums so have mercy if I am doing something wrong.

I have read so many postings about no brakes, spongy brakes, fading brakes and pedals that go to the floor but have not found my problem or a fix that might work.

I refer to this problem as a long brake pedal. What I mean is I get no pedal pressure until I press the pedal what feels like almost to the floor (within inches). I have driven and raced many different cars and have never experienced this problem. The pedal seems to have the proper free play and the E brake is fully engaged at 5 clicks (can pull hard to 7 clicks). I am used to starting to feel pressure shortly after freeplay with a very linear feel to the pedal until brakes fully lock. Although it is an automatic I could never heel and toe with brakes with this much movement before feeling any pressure. I received this problem from previous owner and after replacing front and rear brakes and MC and bleeding all fluid including bench bleeding MC the problem still exists. I have read that this is an inherent problem with this year and model but there must be a fix because it does not feel comfortable at all. I know you should never have to adjust the push rod but I feel that is my next move but am afraid that as they build heat the brakes may tend to drag. If anybody knows about a fix for this problem I would really appreciate any solutions as it is not a good feeling for a spirited driver like myself and I would not feel comfortable passing this problem on to anyone else.

I really like the engineering and simplicity of this older Honda but have only driven a few blocks at a time because of this brake issue.

Thanx in advance for any and all help. Peace