General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1993 Honda Accord Right side brake lights Don't work

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2010, 07:36 PM
Default 1993 Honda Accord Right side brake lights Don't work

1993 Honda Accord brake lights do not work on the right side. the parking lights and turn signals work but no brake lights. I'm not very good with wiring so this is really killing me. Thanks for your help.

Old 07-12-2010, 08:17 PM
Super Moderator

I moved your post to a new thread, since that one is pretty old. It gets confusing if two different people post questions on the same thread.

I can't remember if the brake bulb has two filaments, one for the parking light and another for the brake light. I would remove the bulb and look to see if the filament is burned out.

If you have a volt meter, check that you have 12V on the grn/wht wire that goes to the brake bulb when the brake pedal is pressed. The blk wire should have continuity (~zero resistance) to ground.

Old 07-31-2010, 10:06 AM

I HAVE THE EXACT same problem. NO clue. 1993 Accord LX. Its old but the motor is SO SO great but this is a big problem.
I changed the bulbs. I changed several bulbs. The center light in the back window does not work as well. The light in the brake light in the trunk lid and the brake light in the passenger side rear quarter panel. ALL the bulbs switched and NONE work.
The regular lights work.
The warning light goes on in the dash telling me I have an issue with the rear lights.
Is there a fuse (hoping for something easy)? Or a simple switch or something?
I would take it to the local shop if I thought they had a clue on fixing this. Cant afford the Honda dealer at their rates. ideas?? Worse yet it did this completely out of the blue.

Old 07-31-2010, 12:49 PM
Super Moderator