General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1996 Honda Accord door locks

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2006, 10:12 AM
Newest Of Newbies
Default 1996 Honda Accord door locks

Hi,

My 1996 Honda Accord has the automatic door locks. However, when you lock the driver's or passenger's door (which locks all doors) it makes a loud, whirring sound for about a second or two. Very annoying but the locks work fine and have been working like this for over a year...

I had one person basically listen to it who said it could cost several hundred dollars to find the problem.

I am not a mechanic but would appreciate if somebody knows what is causing this problem, how much it would be to repair or if it is something I could do myself (I'm OK handy but by no means great).

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks

Trolddk

Old 03-24-2006, 10:34 PM
Been Around A Long Time Member
Default RE: 1996 Honda Accord door locks

yea you probably need to put in a new door lock motor. its not very hard at all. you would probably have a few cuts and some frazzled nerves by the time your done though

Old 03-27-2006, 05:44 PM

I had the same problem with my 96 Accord EXL 4 door sedan, come to find out each of the doors. Has its own door lock motor and it has to be replaced, the dealer charged me about $250.00. The parts and and labor are warrantied for a year, you can go to a junk yard and pull your own, but can't gtd. how long it will work.

I do hope this helps you out some.

Old 03-28-2006, 04:08 PM
Newest Of Newbies

Thanks for the information - it definitely helps. I was afraid that it would be around $250. I guess I will live with the grinding noise until they complete give in.

Thanks

Old 03-28-2006, 04:14 PM