General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1999 Transmission / TCC P0740 / Q & A

Search this Thread

Old 12-08-2010, 12:59 PM
Default 1999 Transmission / TCC P0740 / Q & A

Hello to everyone on the forum and thank you for your help.

I understand that many people have transmission problems associated with the 6th gen accords. I have looked at many threads on the forum about this issue and i have a basic understanding of what is going on with my car but i could not find any that are specific to my situation. i am a decent DIY mechanic however, this problem has got me a little confused.

STORY: car has about 170K miles. a few months back, my car started to shift a little roughly when accelerating but not enough to be concerned about. about 2 weeks ago, it started shifting a little harder and more frequently between all gears. in the last week or 2 i got a MAINT REQ and CHECK ENG light on the dash. i work at autozone so i got out the trusty OBD II and took the codes from my car. [P0420 Catalyst System Efficency Below Threshold (Bank 1) and P0740 1.Torque Converter Clutch Circuit Malfunction 2. open or short circut 3.poor electrical connection 4.failed TCC system] i cleared the codes that day and the next day the MAINT REQ and CHECK ENG lights were back on. in the last week, the problem has been getting worse. the transmission will slip while accelerating from 1st to 2nd to 3rd and when it catches, its a violent jerk and clunk. i have gone to a few transmission shops and i get a different answer every time...

WHAT I KNOW:
  • there is a major problem with the 6th gen honda transmissions and honda has not issued a recall.
  • the transmission seems to have got these problems rather quickley
  • the trans fluid has a slight burn to it but not really bad, the color an fluid level is fine.
  • there are no metal shavings/chips on the dip stick