General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2000 Accord 2.3 Cylinder Head question

Search this Thread

Old 04-21-2015, 07:04 PM
Wink 2000 Accord 2.3 Cylinder Head question

I have a 2000 Accord 2.3. Cylinder 4 had no compression. I squirted some oil in cylinder and retested, no change. I removed cylinder head, saw a valve was cracked. I bought a rebuilt cylinder head and installed. The car ran fine for about 6 months, now I have no compression in the same cylinder.

I am about to remove the cylinder head again. My question is, if I find the same thing, (a damaged valve), is this a coincidence or is there something wrong in the bottom half of the motor that is causing the same cylinder to have problems. Is there something I am missing that is obvious? I have little to no mechanical knowledge or ability, so any tips are appreciated.

That is the basics of it. I am skipping some stuff, (codes, etc) Any more info needed let me know. Thank you.

Old 04-21-2015, 08:34 PM
Super Moderator

Hmmm, loose wrist pin?

The number four fuel injector running slightly lean?

Old 04-22-2015, 01:34 PM
Super Moderator : And A Texan

Suggest checking camshaft to crankshaft timing is spot on. Engine might run Ok off by one lug of timing belt, but expose valves to impact at high rpm.

Did you have head shaved flat? A rebuilt head would likely have been prepped. I've always done this since I got to do my first ever head gasket job twice because I thought head looked "flat enough".

Meticulous detail required to clean head bolts and female engine block threads (thread chaser), lube bolts and torque to spec. Failure to do so can lead to head gasket failure.

Also use quality head gasket kit (OEM or Felpro).

good luck

Old 04-22-2015, 08:40 PM
Default Pulled head