General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

2000 Accord Transmission. Rebuild Myself?

Search this Thread

Old 11-30-2010, 06:23 PM
Default 2000 Accord Transmission. Rebuild Myself?

I have a 2000 Accord 4 cyl automatic with 205K miles on it. The transmission was slipping slightly, so I did three drain and fills over the course of about 5 months & 10K miles. It is better now, but I feel that it won't go much longer.

Now, I've gotten prices anywhere from around $1600 for a junkyard tranny to over $3000 for a turnkey rebuild.

OTOH, RockAuto sells a rebuild kit with all the seals and discs for about $110. I'm a professional mechanic and have worked on a little of everything in my life, just not automatic transmissions, especially Hondas.

So, can this be done? I have lots of tools and a shop press if that matters. Thanks!

Old 12-01-2010, 01:41 PM
Super Moderator

I'd invest in the shop manual from Helm, the official factory shop manual.
www dot helminc dot com
It's a lot pricier than the Chilton/Haynes stuff, but very VERY detailed. It'll have a whole section, probably 140 pages, just covering auto-trans rebuilding.

I've occasionally heard of people finding that book at public libraries.

I've browsed that section in my Helm books, just for fun. But all my cars have 3 pedals, so I never had to consider actually doing something like that. You'll probably have to get some special arbors with strange diameters, for pressing bearings & stuff like that.

Not something I'd recommend for the casual driveway "mechanic" but you make it sound like you're beyond that.

Old 12-01-2010, 08:05 PM
Super Moderator : And A Texan

A couple of thoughts. If you don't need the car every day you might pull the trans and repair yourself, taking your time.