General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2006 Accord EX rear wheel bearings replacement

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2011, 02:55 AM
Default 2006 Accord EX rear wheel bearings replacement

Hi, newbie here:

I have a '06 Accord EX, purchased new in late '05, automatic tranny. I drive a lot of freeway miles for work and back (average 80 miles a day) and a monthly trip to the Bay Area (approx. 1,000 miles round trip). I have almost 143K original miles on this car and really no major repair or performance issues to speak of.

But I took the car in for an alignment, the tech says that the left side rear wheel bearings are shot and showed me the difference between the other side (fairly quiet), you can a hear a slight rubbing noise like beargins are dried out.

He asked if I noticed any sounds coming from the tires or rear passenger seats, I said yes, like I was running low air tire pressure (but they have been around 33-34 lbs. at all times) or low humming during the car motion of moving but stops when stopped.

Question: the dealership wants $210 for each rear wheel hub assembly with the bearings inside plus $235 for labor to change out the two rear wheel hub bearings.

-- I saw at Auto Zone, I could buy the Timken made rear wheel hub assembly for about $110 and think it's a easy DIY? Or is it??

-- Is there anything to know before I start to take the wheels off? Is it a straight yank them out and slap in the new unit?

-- Need any sort of impact driver? (which I don't have)

I think the only thing I need to worry about is the removal of rear brake calipers and pads, which was replaced about 10K ago.

Hope it's an easy fix.

Last edited by smilner; 02-02-2011 at 02:57 AM. Reason: spelling
Old 02-02-2011, 06:46 AM
Super Moderator

Should be pretty easy. Don't need an impact driver, but you'll need a torque wrench.