General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2016 Air Conditioning Question

Search this Thread

Old 08-09-2016, 11:26 PM
Newest Of Newbies
Question 2016 Air Conditioning Question

I'm new to the forum, and I'm also new to my Accord. I apologize if I'm not posting correctly. I did read the "Before you Post" threads, but who knows. Anyhow, I'm in Louisiana and we're in the middle of a really hot, sticky summer. My new Accord with about 1200 miles on it is great generally, but just this week I've noticed that I'll be driving around town and the A/C will stop cooling. The cabin gets clammy with the humidity from outside (it is often 85% relative humidity with real temps in the 90's) and it heats up while blowing tepid air through the vents. So far, it has started cooling again after a few minutes. There is a little bit of a funny smell when the A/C takes its breaks. I am assuming that this isn't normal Honda A/C functioning; I had a Civic Hybrid a few years ago, and I don't remember anything like this happening on that car. I want to compare notes with other Honda owners before I take it in to the dealer. So the question is, "Does this sound normal?" Can most people tell when the thermostat starts backing off the A/C when it gets down to the correct temp? It is doing this set on "LO" also, which I'd think would be calling for the A/C to run constantly. Thanks for the help!

Old 08-10-2016, 12:48 PM

Hello, John.. welcome to the forum

I'm a bit confused by your description of the AC issue. I too have a 2016 Accord and live in the Ohio River valley where it is warm & humid during summer months; I've not experience any problem with the AC, but I do not know what you mean by, "..set on LO". Have you set your AC on Auto?

I keep my Accord's AC set on a particular temperature, for instance @ 64 degrees.. the system never shuts off nor "takes a break".

Old 08-10-2016, 01:17 PM