General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

5th Gen Honda Accord Help

Search this Thread

Old 05-10-2014, 02:42 PM
Default 5th Gen Honda Accord Help

Hi there,

First of all, I should state that I'm completely new to cars so I know next to nothing about repairs, maintenance and what not. That said, I will soon be a (proud?) owner of a fifth generation Honda Accord ('93 - '97 model) which will be my daily commuter to work.

I plan to take the car to my local mechanic and have him inspect and repair anything as necessary. So I was hoping that you guys could tell me what I should be looking for and any special items that might need attention in ensuring that the car is in good working order. I've read different articles about car maintenance online, but I'm hoping to get more specific pointers for this car.

Any help at all is really appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Cheers!

Old 05-10-2014, 11:36 PM
Super Moderator

Welcome.

The 5th gen was actually 94-97. They are probably one of the most reliable cars ever made. And pretty cheap to maintain. A great purchase as a first car in my opinon.

There are a few things you will want to consider having your mechanic look at/replace. It really all depends on how in depth of maintenance records you have on your car.

Obviously the car is no spring chicken, so here are a few things that I would replace if you have no record of the last time they were replaced:
spark plugs
plug wires
distributor cap & rotor
fuel filter
air filter
oil change
transmission fluid change