General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

'90 Accord DX, falling apart

Search this Thread

Old 06-28-2011, 12:34 PM
Default '90 Accord DX, falling apart

hey, here's the cliche first forum post complaining about car troubles...

im new to the honda world as i just bought a 1990 accord dx with 218k, to daily drive while i complete my subaru project

problems:
  • very rough idle
  • transmission (AT) wont shift under constant acceleration (kick down?)
  • acceleration is horrible, takes maybe a minute or longer to reach freeway speeds..
  • it doesnt do hills. at all.
  • wont go over 60mph
  • blinking CEL, i cannot find the '2 pin connector' used to read codes anywhere (pass side under the dash, didnt see it)
  • got some overheating and light smoking after about a 40 mile mostly freeway drive
  • and the fan stays on for a bit after i shut the car off and remove the key

but.. the body and interior is pretty good for a car as old as i am

anyways.. hit me with the onslaught of tech advice

Old 06-28-2011, 12:47 PM

okay, so i found the diagnostic plug, with a switch on it instead.. so thats confusing the **** out of me

it looks like it was in the position of shorting the two wires to begin with, because when i switch it off, the cel turns on with the other lights, then turns off as if theres no code, when the wires are touching, the cel blinks slowly..

so..?

Old 06-28-2011, 01:14 PM
Super Moderator

Count the flashes to get the codes. See the links in the common diy index at the top of gen tech help forum.

Old 06-28-2011, 01:27 PM

its just constantly flashing at the same rate

Old 06-28-2011, 01:42 PM
Super Moderator

I would pull the 7.5 amp backup/radio fuse in the engine bay fuse box for a minute. Plug fuse back in.

Don't try to start the car, but re-check for codes. The check engine light should light up and not flash any codes.

Did the D4 light or the S light flash any codes?