General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

94 accord idles low then dies

Search this Thread

Old 09-23-2011, 03:01 PM
Newest Of Newbies
Default 94 accord idles low then dies

My accord has been idling low at times it will sit about 200 and sputter, other times it will die. today I let it sit in the drive for about five minutes while it idled at 200 then it died. I put injector cleaner in the other day and it ran fine yesterday no cel or anything; except that it wouldn't turn over for about 5 minutes last night. When I try to run the code my cel just stays solid, does this mean a bad ecu? When I take the short out the light goes off, I'm hoping it's just not storing the codes. Where should I be looking for the problem, I've been thinking it's a bad fuel filter but I'm not very good at trouble shooting. I check the manual and the filter was the only thing that matched up with the two problems. Has anyone had this problem or can help out? I will begin working on it tomorrow.

Old 09-23-2011, 04:01 PM
Super Moderator

Has any work been done of the car?

If the check engine light stays lit, that means no code is stored. You may want to check that the 7.5 amp backup/radio fuse in the engine bay fuse box isn't blown. Also, there is an ECU fuse that is either in that same engine bay fuse box, or in the one under the driver's side dash. That is a 10 amp fuse.

I always suggest that you change the distributor cap, distributor rotor, and spark plugs if they are past due. I like the Honda cap Most parts stores will carry these.

You didn't say if this was an automatic or a manual transmission. Did the D4 light flash any codes?

In the common DIY thread on top of the gen tech help forum, there is a link to cleaning the IACV on your car. I would also clean both sides of the throttle plate and the inside of the throttle body. I would use throttle body cleaner on this.

Old 09-23-2011, 11:29 PM
Newest Of Newbies