General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

94 Accord Stumbles, Runs Terrible

Search this Thread

Old 05-30-2009, 06:01 PM
94AccordOH
Unregistered
Default 94 Accord Stumbles, Runs Terrible

Hello all, glad to have found this forum.

I am a Chrysler tech, and have a 94 Accord 2.2, manual trans here that I am repairing for a family friend.

Basically, it runs perfectly fine when its cold, and the second it reaches operating temp, and closed loop, it starts bogging down terribly, and falling flat on its face. It gets worse and worse the longer it runs, to the point that it will only do about 30 miles an hour, and if you push the pedal it will just sputter and stumble, and backfire thru the intake at times (like timing is off, but runs fine cold and idle).

Its acting the like coil is bad, I checked the spark before I replaced the coil and it was very weak, and yellow. Havent checked it after, out of patience as of now, lol...

Here is what has been done so far:

New distributor, wires, coil, plugs
EGR system checked, was ok, (disabled as well, no difference, valve is not stuck, opened and closed with vac pump manually)
Repaired some cracked vacuum hoses
Checked and adjusted timing
Checked compression (175-185 on all, engine warm)

I am unable to check the fuel pressure because I do not have the adapters for the lines, and their is no schrader valve that I can see.

Other than that, I am lost on this one. It always starts right up, will run ok no load, it will spit and sputter even if it is revved no load. All good until it warms up. Not a single code in the computer, no check engine light.

I have found quite a few threads on similar hesitation problems on various forums I have searched for the last hour, but none seem to have a solution......hope you guys can help, really appreciate it.

Last edited by 94AccordOH; 05-30-2009 at 06:10 PM.
Old 05-30-2009, 06:42 PM
Super Moderator