General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

95 Accord LX - Clunk/jerk with shifting.

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2011, 02:52 PM
Default 95 Accord LX - Clunk/jerk with shifting.

Hello,
I have a 1995 Honda Accord LX sedan, 175k miles.
I am a little bit hesitant to shell out the cash to get a new timing belt/valve adjustments because I have been noticing a distinct jerk/clunk when shifting from 1st to 2nd. It also jerks when I am parked, and shifting into reverse. I recently (a couple months ago) had my tranny fluid drained and had a new tranny mount installed. That day, my car was running a lot smoother (there was still a slight jolt though). However, as time went on, the problem has returned to it's previous state. I am not very well versed in working on cars, and I'm a broke college student, so I'm trying to make the best here.

Advice?
What is this clunkin'?
Thanks in advance,
James H

Old 01-04-2011, 03:40 PM
Super Moderator

Is this a 4 or 6 cylinder? Does the D4 light start flashing when driving or does the check engine light turn on when driving?

Old 01-04-2011, 03:45 PM

It is a 4 cylinder. No, the light does not flash and the check engine light remains off.

Old 01-04-2011, 04:03 PM
Super Moderator

I am not too good with automatic transmissions. When was the last time the transmission fluid was changed?

You could also clean out the shift and lockup solenoids along with the screens with some throttle body cleaner?

Old 01-04-2011, 04:50 PM

Me either haha. A couple of months ago, I drained it and refilled it.
Well, I wouldn't know much about the solenoids.. any advice at this point sounds good.

Thanks
JH

Old 01-16-2011, 01:31 AM