General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Accord 2000 possibly fuel problem

Search this Thread

Old 08-29-2009, 12:22 PM
Newest Of Newbies
Default Accord 2000 possibly fuel problem

Hi all,
I'm a newbie to the forum from the UK hoping for some help in finding a fault that could be fuelling.

I have a year 2000 Accord coupe 2000cc petrol. For about a year and a half I have had an intermittent problem that occurs sometimes twice a week, but then maybe not again for 2 months. It does not happen very often!

Basically the engine will cut out when I am driving along. If I try to start it again immediately it will not start. But if I leve it for one minute before trying, then it will always start immediately.

In a seperate incident today, I returned from a two week holiday and tried to start thE car, but it wouldn't start (and still won't). The engine is turning, there is a spark, but it appears that there is no fuel.

Normally when the ignition lights come on the dash before starting the car, I hear a buzz from the fuel pump, which ends after about 2 seconds at the same time as a click. Neither sounds are currently audible.

Is there any way to tell for sure if it is a fuel pump problem or a relay problem? Anyone know which one is the fuel pump relay?

A breakdown guy came out to look at it this afternoon and after doing some checking, he thinks it is either a pump or a relay. But he doesn'y know which is the correct relay for the pump. He says that the pump has an electrical feed, so thinks it is not a relay problem.

The connector on the fuel tank has five pins in a pair and a three. Which ones are for the pump?

There is a public holiday in UK on Monday so all garages and suppliers will now be shut until then. But I could try to get a used part from a breakers on Sunday or Monday if I know which ones to get.