General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

All My Engine Oil Leaked Out

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2008, 04:10 PM
LAEXACCORDGUY
Unregistered
Default All My Engine Oil Leaked Out

Well, I'm not sure if I am pissed, disappointed, or still in shock. I'm a newbie who just bought a 91 Accord last Thursday. I checked the car thoroughly (or at least I thought I did) before handing over the cash. I looked under the hood and it appeared to be fine, I looked under the engine compartment and noticed what was a oil leak from the oil pan. The car sounded strong, drove strong and smooth, and I figured I would have it checked out by my mechanic soon after. I also figured I would have the TB done since the milesare high, and you just never know. the guy I bought it from didn't have it long and didnt have much history on the car (this should have been my first red flag). But the car looks so immaculate I couldn't resist.

Driving to work this morning the oil light turned on and stayed on, I then began to smell burning oil and within a couple of blocks pulled into a gas station, opened the hood and lots of smoke. I also noticed engine oil on the top of motor near the firewall. I then looked under the car and that's when I noticed a trail of big oil drippings trailing the car and I noticed a huge puddle of oil underneath the car. Needless to say I was very worried at this point. AAA came out and towed the car to HonCura mechanic. Themechanic did a visual check of the car and it might be a seal located within the TB area that has been known to pop out causing this type of problem. So I don't know if this is the actual problem until the mechanic conducts a more thorough check of the car, and pulls out the TB. So I am keeping my fingers crossed. If it is just the TB area seals/gaskets the cost is just under $600 to complete the entire TB/WP/Belts/gasket/seals job. He is also going to let me know about the leaking oil pan.