General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Is This A Bad CV Joint?

Search this Thread

Old 05-14-2013, 07:48 PM
Default Is This A Bad CV Joint?

On the 93 Accord that I'm working on, there is a pronounced noise from the right side front during turns. I've heard CV joint symptoms described as "clicking".

This is a click on steroids. It's rhythmic and you can feel it as well as hear it. It is in relation to wheel rotation speed. It does it consistently, although it seems NOT to do it if my foot is on the brake.

Something in the brakes? Wheel bearing? Or CV joint?

I'm fairly new to front wheel drive, so any tips or ideas would be really appreciated.

Old 05-14-2013, 07:57 PM
Been Around A Long Time Member

the 2 CV joints that I've had / seen wear out both had the clicking at low - parking lot - speeds on tight turns.

Old 05-14-2013, 08:01 PM

Sounds the same. Slow speed turns yup. Pretty loud right? I took a call today while I was on a road test with it and the person on the other end said "What's that noise?".

Last edited by scoostraw; 05-14-2013 at 08:11 PM.
Old 05-14-2013, 10:00 PM
Default 94 accord cv joint

I swapped both axles in 98 accord with lifetime warranty part from local autozone store. I think they were $90 each. To swap you might need an impact gun to remove the axle main bolt. I think it's 36mm socket. I can swap out 1 side in < half hour but again you need to get that axle nut loose.

Old 05-14-2013, 11:13 PM

Originally Posted by wudwork
I swapped both axles in 98 accord with lifetime warranty part from local autozone store. I think they were $90 each. To swap you might need an impact gun to remove the axle main bolt. I think it's 36mm socket. I can swap out 1 side in < half hour but again you need to get that axle nut loose.
Mine is a 93.

Will the inner boot fit thru the wishbone on a 93?

Old 05-15-2013, 11:04 AM