General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

barn find

Search this Thread

Old 11-28-2012, 08:47 PM
Default barn find

Hey, so i'm somewhat new to the world of Honda's. I picked up an '86 Accord LX sedan (carburetor) i found in a barn, has been sitting for 4 years 225,000 miles. I oiled the cylinders and charged the battery and it started right up. I have been driving for about a week but upon cold start it doesnt want to idle and when it gets to temperature it idles too fast? Since then I've put new plugs and fuel filters in it but no help. I sprayed the carb down with cleaner, dicked around with the choke and still nothing seems to help. I'm very confused. Please help?

Last edited by Accordian81; 11-28-2012 at 09:09 PM. Reason: relaying more information
Old 11-29-2012, 06:31 PM
Super Moderator

These seem to have an issue with the fast idle unloader.....some clean the orfice and things get better.

Old 11-29-2012, 08:14 PM

It doesnt go into a fast idle, it just kind of chugs until normal operating temp? Then upon normal temp the throttle doesnt go go all the way back against the idler screw, but the throttle cable has some slack. I dont know if its just gummed up or what? Your thoughts? Thanks.

Old 11-29-2012, 08:41 PM
Super Moderator

Again, the fast idle unloader is a vac controlled...."port/dashpot/pulloff" (it is late). Let me guess....cold it chuggs and black smoke (rich) comes out the tail pipe....then once the plugs burn off the extra gas...it idles around 2~2.5K rpm's.....you tap the gas a time or two....it might idle down or it might hang even higher - lets say 3K now. Finally after it gets warm and you tap the gas pedal a few times it will finally drop to normal idle rpm's.

Then last...on COLD days, you turn the car off to go into a store.....five minutes later you come out, start the car and the rpm's jump to ~3K.

Am I close?

Old 11-29-2012, 08:56 PM