General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Brakes locking 2000 Accord ABS. After pulling CV joints.......

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2014, 05:11 PM
Smile Brakes locking 2000 Accord ABS. After pulling CV joints.......

Hello, my first post, and I already need help.

I'll give you a little back ground, I've been building race engines for over 30 years now, and have done just about everything to a car/truck from carbs to trannys, rear ends, body work, and even custom parts. So, I do know a little about cars.

So I'm trying to save my son some money as he needed a rear main seal replaced on his 2000 Accord SE.

I pulled the tranny, and replaced the bad rear seal on the engine as well as the front pump seal on the automatic transmission.

To do all of this I had to pull both CV joints, and the passenger side brakes.

After getting everything back together, and hooking up all of the wiring, etc.

I started the car, and checked for leaks..............everything good.

So I start to take it for a test drive. My driveway is fairly long so the tranny was able to change gears once before getting to the end.

After it changed gears the ABS locked both front brakes, HARD, then let off. I pulled the battery cable again to let any codes clear [battery cable was off the whole time I was working on the car].

I tried it again, same thing both brakes lock HARD. I put the tranny into 1st gear, and gave it a try . No locking of the brakes.

The tranny does need just a bit more fluid, but I wouldn't think that would be an issue. Also, there are no lights comming on the dash except for the check engine light, but it was like that before I worked on it.

Oh, and it wasn't doing this before I did the work, so it pretty much has to be related to something I done.