General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Can't use Air Conditioning in hot weather.

Search this Thread

Old 06-29-2010, 08:12 PM
Default Can't use Air Conditioning in hot weather.

Argh! I just got back from Arizona, in my (well maintained) 95 LX. The AC works great here in California in 90+ plus. But Phoenix last week was 111 degrees! I travel in the morning or evening when it is not so hot. While there, I needed to take a 60 mile (day) freeway trip. Here is the scenario.

Driving along with AC blowing cold, I look at the instrument cluster and see the Heat Gauge up above mid range, never seen that so high. Not boiling over, but running HOT, HOT, HOT. I slowed down and went over to the slow lane.

I started playing "yo - yo" with the AC switch; turn it off and the temp went down to normal. Needless to say I was burning up. So I turned it on and there goes the temp, up. Shut off AC, temp went down. What the heck?

Here in the California Central Valley it gets over 100 degrees, but Phoenix was "cooking". I had one person tell me: it is just too hot for some cars..." you got air conditioning and can't use it". Anyone ever had this?

Old 06-29-2010, 08:58 PM
Been Around A Long Time Member

I would inspect the cooling system especially the radiator and fans. On the radiator if it has the brass core looks for missing and detached fins at the bottom. Also look for the core to be caked with something on the condenser side either core material. The air is putting a higher demand on the cooling system coupled with the temperature.

Old 06-29-2010, 11:03 PM
Super Moderator

Make sure that both fans turn on when the a/c is running.

Also make sure that the radiator is full of coolant by removing the cap and topping it off when the engine is COLD.