General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Changing Brake Rotors...

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2010, 09:10 PM
Default Changing Brake Rotors...

I recently bought a DD 96 5 speed LX and plan to change the rotors and brakes soon,plus I think one of my bearings might be bad.Car runs like a dream though,nice and solid!

2 questions before I take it apart:

Are brake rotors held on by 4 phillips screws?Do I need an impact screwdriver to get them off?

And do I need to change the axle nuts with new ones anytime I remove them?

This is my first Honda and I never did the brakes and etc on there so was just asking.(Im a former GM tech and certified in GM brakes as well)
Just never worked on a car like this.Just need some info before I go and replace some stuff.

Thanks!

Old 01-23-2010, 09:32 PM
Been Around A Long Time Member

You have to separate the bearing and hub to get them off. Take the steering knuckle off and take it to a machine shop unless you have a press. The dealership has a tool to do them on the car. The axle nuts are up to you. I usually replace them and I would replace the rotor mounting bolts also. I think on your Accord there is seal you replace with the bearing job. It is all metal.

Last edited by kris_loehr; 01-23-2010 at 09:37 PM.
Old 01-23-2010, 10:24 PM

Thanks Kris! Do you know if autozone or advance rents out this tool?

I found a accord rotor removing tool during a search but it was kinda expensive.

I do have a local machine shop right down the road from me,walking distance,and they have a hydraulic press.But that said,id rather be able to do this at home myself.If I cant,then I will take the unit off and let them press it out.

I thought about calling the snap on guy,but fuggetaboutit,its probably gonna be way more expensive through him.

Old 01-23-2010, 10:50 PM