General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Clicking sound when turning

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-2009, 10:25 PM
Newest Of Newbies
Default Clicking sound when turning

Hi everyone. new to this site. I just picked up a 94 Accord 2dr. and I have a clicking sound coming from the pass side when I turn. I am suspecting a bearing or cv joint? Any insight would be appreciated. Thanks

Old 03-10-2009, 11:22 PM
Been Around A Long Time Member

More than likely a cv joint,you can easily inspect it,look for tearing from the boot,both inner and out ends.

Old 03-11-2009, 10:09 PM
Newest Of Newbies

Thanks, I will look into that on friday.

Old 03-11-2009, 10:16 PM
Newest Of Newbies

Do you think this is something that I could do myself with out any special tools? I am fairly savy in working on vehicles, thou I have never done this procedure before. My area is more in the electronic installation. I guess I am asking how hard it would be to do it. If the boot is torn, am I looking at replacing the whole cv joint, or just new boots themselves?

Old 03-11-2009, 11:20 PM

From personal experiences,replacing the boot alone turned out not to solve the problem,simply because once you lose the grease inside the cv joint,you start to develop friction as a result of lack of grease.The clicking noise not only tells you that your cv joint is bad,but also the ***** that are constantly rotating inside the boot are bad,and replacing just the boot would do nothing but continue to click after a while.

My suggestion after all is said,replace the cv joint assembly, haha the jobis far different from what your field is i asume,there are plenty of DIY instructions online.Took me 30 minutes to change mine on my old 98 accord.

good luck

Old 03-13-2009, 01:11 AM

Originally Posted by cjdm98