General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

engine not idling correctly after linkage problem

Search this Thread

Old 12-09-2017, 04:19 PM
Default engine not idling correctly after linkage problem

I guess the first question is:

Do Accords (2005) idle differently in cold weather?

If not, then I have another problem.

My engine idles a tiny bit rough sometimes and occassionally it just dies while idling.
It started doing this yesterday.

Here is what I did to my engine yesterday (prior to this it worked fine)

I had to tighten a shift linkage cable, to do this I pulled off some parts. I took out the battery and then I took out the air cleaner stuff to get to the linkage.

Do Accords have "vacuum advance" and that sort of stuff? Could it be a hose not connected or fitted properly?
(I am not a mechanic, I used the phrase "air cleaner stuff" because I have no idea what it is actually called)

Below are images of the affected area. I have a few questions to ask about them.

1)
By removing the parts I needed to get to the linkage, could I have messed up my idling?
2)
I used split collar pipe bolts (or nuts or whatever they are called) to hold the linkage in the proper place, it was not being held in place as it should have been. I had trouble getting into 2nd and Reverse gears.

I could either pay between about $180 to $250 for parts and then additional labor fees to have it fixed or I could put in some spacers and fix it myself. (I used split collars because I need something that would go over the cable, so a normal washer would not work)

Anyway, the reason I messed around with the air filter system is because the split collars got loose and slipped, so my 2nd and reverse gear problems returned. I tightened them up and I can shift again.

Does anyone know of a better way to fix the linkage problem?