General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Exhaust rattle = bad converter??

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2006, 11:45 AM
filmstar17
Unregistered
Default Exhaust rattle = bad converter??

Hi everyone,

I am a newbie on this forum. My 99 Accord EX 4 cyl. with 110K has developed a rattle, or tapping noise. It sounds like it is
cooming from the catalytic converter. When the car is idling (in gear or park) it makes a fairly loud rattle. If you increase the rpm's
to 1000 it stops.

At first the noise scared me to death. It sounded almost like a lower engine tapping. However the car runs great, no check engine
lights, no apparent blockage in the converter.

By the way the car has a ULEV (ultra low emissions) sticker in the rear side window. I don't know if this means it was a Cali car
originally or not. However, I did read a post that said a standard or non- Cali converter would fit with no modifications. Hopefully
this is correct.

Thanks in advance for your help

Old 04-07-2006, 12:06 PM
Default RE: Exhaust rattle = bad converter??

A heat shield might be loose on the exhaust somewhere, there is one on the cat. I would start by checking there.

Old 04-07-2006, 12:34 PM

ORIGINAL: 98accrd

A heat shield might be loose on the exhaust somewhere, there is one on the cat. I would start by checking there.
exactly what I was thinking. This happened with my civic

Old 04-07-2006, 12:54 PM
filmstar17
Unregistered

Thanks for the responses. It's definitely not the heat shield. That was my first impression also. However, I've been under the car, and there is no play or vibration in the heat shield. I even banged it a little with a small hammer, and it still didn't move.

The sound is more like an internal noise. It's not really like a typical catalytic noise, but it doesn't sound like a typical engine noise either. It doesn't affect the running, or performance, but it's definitely getting louder, and is a nuisance.