General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Failing PCM?

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2014, 08:49 AM
Default Failing PCM?

I’m buying steak dinner for the guy who gets this sorted out!

I will try to be relatively succinct. My elevator pitch is that this 2003 Accord seems to have some sort of electrical issue which may be causing failure of the PCM. I sure could use some help on this one!

OK, here what we’ve got:
2003 Accord 2.4L i4 EX Vtec Coupe (Gen7) Auto Trans.

I am a mechanical engineer and one of my dad’s electrical engineering friends is helping with this one too. Additionally, my wife’s second cousin owns a small repair shop. We have any and all (non Honda-specific) tools at our disposal (scope, meters, scan tools, etc.)

Background of car & issues: The car has, since my dad bought it at 60,000 miles in 6/09, gotten fairly poor mileage (low to mid 20s). I can squeeze a TL to get 30-40MPG and was unable to break 30 mpg in the Accord when I was anticipating 40+. This may be a bogey. Anyway, downstream Air/fuel ratio (AFR) sensor (some mistakenly call it an O2 sensor) was replaced @ 85k in 2011. Replaced air filter and spark plugs @ 105k in early May 2014 to try and improve mileage.

A few weeks later dad started noticing “transmission issues”. While driving CEL intermittently came on, RDNL lights on dash gave a light show. Then, in the same trip the green Neutral LED indicator would intermittently illuminate. When illuminated with constant throttle, engine speed would drop to ~700 RPM. Once LED was off, car seemed to drive properly. He also reported that once he got home it felt like tranny was slipping.