General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

General Maintenance...

Search this Thread

Old 02-07-2011, 06:55 PM
Unhappy General Maintenance...

Ok, this might be long sorry....I have a 93 accord ex coupe. it has roughly 215k miles on it, maybe more...i'll double check...it has various leaks, but runs great...long story short, I bought the car in 2000, it had 80k on it, my sister has been driving it for the last 10 years, my bro in law had a friend who worked for honda work on it, he never fixed anything major, just kind of bandaged it together, he said all the leaks are normal and that it would cost more to fix the leaks than the cars worth. here's my questions, i'm not a mechanic but i can handle normal stuff, oil, belt or 2...at least on my grand prix gtp, and my chevy 1500 truck. I know this honda is a differnt animal. It has an oil leak, power steering leak, and it might have a brake leak. I'd say there might be a rad problem too, but i could be wrong, the fans kick on after it's been turned off and sitting, no matter if it's 100 or 40 out...i'm sure this is normal since it's been doing this for some time. the a/c works great, cold as hell!!!

I actually got the car back from my sister in Sep of last year when i found out it was just sitting in their driveway not being driven and have been driving it ever since, I check the oil about once a month and might have to add a little here and there, i'd say between oil changes, 5k miles, i have to add a total of 1 quart. I drive it now, since it gets 420 miles to a full tank of gas and i drive 70-80 on the frieeway.

Questions, where could the oil leaks be from? I read how hard to change valve cover and spark plug gaskets, seems easy enough.

power steering? how hard to change the pump?

brake leak, could it have a bad cylinder or cable somewhere?