General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help! Tips on lowering / tuning?

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2013, 04:29 AM
Question Help! Tips on lowering / tuning?

Before I ask this question, i'd like everyone to bear with me because I am a noob at the actual tuning and mechanics of cars but i pretty much have the generic knowledge from simulation video games etc..

I think im going to buy a 96 or 98 Accord. but im not too sure yet because im a pretty big guy (6'1", 230lbs) but anyways, i live in Buffalo,NY and the weather here is crappy in the winter but i want a nice car i can build. Im going for a low clean, flush if possible look. Can anyone give me some help / tips?

Old 02-12-2013, 04:53 AM
Super Moderator

Stay away from v6s and automatics. Other than that you can lower and put some clean rims on either one.

Old 02-12-2013, 05:33 AM

How low is too low for snow? What height / suspension kit would you recommend? I honestly have no clue on how to install anything on any car but i think this will definitley being a learning experience. I want to get as much info as possible before the purchase and turn it into a project.

Old 02-12-2013, 06:51 AM
Super Moderator

Coilsovers are the way to go. The height is adjustable so you could have it lower in summer then raise it for winter. Function form coil overs are probably the best bang for the buck. A 2.5-3in drop on an accord is a good ride height.

Old 02-12-2013, 06:58 AM
Almost A Senior Member

accordmelly27;
I'm from Orchard Park, and a couple of years ago in a storm around Dec 1, my car was acting like a plow, the air vent under the front bumper scooped up snow. I didn't want to stop until I got in the driveway because I wouldn't get going again.