General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Honda Noob

Old 09-04-2011, 08:33 PM
Default Honda Noob

Hello from NE Ohio..
I am not a mechanic. The only tools I own are a hammer, screwdriver & tire gauge. I'm quick but when it comes to the mechanical operations of what does what, I'm clueless..

I purchased a new (used) 99 Honda Accord EX Coupe (3.0L SOHC 24V VTEC V6) it has 89300miles on it. Absolutely love this car til' it rained one day.. Was told to replace the distributor cap & rotor due to moisture. Of course I did this when it was dry, sunny & warm outside. It was purring like a kitten yesterday. Everything was fine & dandy, then it rained again (today) & we are due for rain ALL week..

The car will crank, the green key in the dash flashes but shuts off. All of the electrical works properly. When the rain dries up, the car will start. It's frustrating b/c I just acquired this car and I was told to get the throttle body cleaned, which I did & now this.. It's one thing after another.

Old 09-04-2011, 10:21 PM
Been Around A Long Time Member

huh?
I am confused by your post

Old 09-04-2011, 10:30 PM
Newest Of Newbies

How about your plug wires ? Some thing you can try is putting your car in a dark garage , get a spray bottle with water , open your hood , start the car then spray your plug wires lightly . See if you get some arcing. If a garage is unavailable try it after dark.

Last edited by XCR600; 09-04-2011 at 10:32 PM.
Old 09-04-2011, 11:55 PM
Almost A Senior Member

Who told you to change the cap and rotor?

I just think it's strange to suspect that given your symptoms. Unless the cap was physically cracked or there was some other defect with it, I don't see how moisture has anything to do with those. Seems like throwing money at the problem. Even then the cap and the distributor housing itself both have holes that allow moisture and air to get in to begin with.