General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

How shifty is my dealer?

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2009, 12:41 AM
Default How shifty is my dealer?

I'm growing increasingly concerned that my dealer's service department is shifty.

At the 30k service on my 2003 Accord LX V6, they changed the transmission fluid. After the fact, I realized the manual only calls for it to be changed at 120k/6years (normal) or 60k (severe).

It now has a little under 50k miles on it and I just took it to the dealer for an oil change and the wiper motor issue recall.

I figured it would need front pads, but according to them, it needs rotors, too. $545+tax. I'm thinking of doing this myself - A set of decent rotors and pads seems like it would cost me in the $200 neighborhood. (Any recommendations? I'm an exuberant everyday driver.)

They also told me that I need to have the timing belt package (including water pump and coolant) done for $1080 + tax because even though I'm not at 60k miles, I'm at 6 years. I get that it's a big job and I have no sense of whether that price is out of line or not. But I just checked the manual and it doesn't call for the timing belt replacement until 105k miles or 84 months/7 years (normal or severe schedule).

Are they just bolstering their workload and revenue by recommending or including particular services well ahead of the schedules in the manual?

I'd appreciate any thoughts on what this dealer is telling me as well as opinions on the timing belt - i.e. is it really tempting fate to push the 7 years if the mileage is well under 105k? Was the transmission fluid change at 30k just a scam to do unnecessary work? (They also replaced rear pads at 30k, which struck me as early base on my experience with previous cars, but after reading around, it sounds fairly common on Accords of similar vintage.)

Thanks!
Brett

Old 07-12-2009, 02:03 AM
Been Around A Long Time Member